New ‘Do, New You!

I’m in the market for a new haircut and style, and I’ve been in a rut for a while now. I have what is considered to be a round, soft face which adds difficulty to the situation. It seems that very few haircuts actually flatter a round face! And I’m not talking about Ginnifer Goodwin round, that seems roundly shaped with tight skin and pixie features, I’m talking drapey skin, fuller cheeks, bigger nose, tiny hooded eyes, slightly textured skin round face. Believe me, I would love it if I had pixie features, but that just doesn’t exist on my face!

Through all of my research, I came across pictures of various hairstyles, from pixies to “lobs” to super long hair. I have medium length hair right now, and it bores me to pieces. I had a pixie and I loved it, although I received tons of negative feedback saying that it wasn’t right for my face. I’ve also had long hair down to my butt, and I did get lots of compliments with it, but the same bore factor bothered me about it. I want something edgier that also compliments my facial features!

“They” recommend adding vertical height to minimize a round face, long straight hair to blanket the cheeks, side-swept bangs, and de-emphasizing the sides of the face by avoiding haircuts that end at the jawline, meaning no rounded one-length bobs.

Some of the recommended hairstyles:

I decided to go through old pictures of me since I’ve pretty much tried every hairstyle in the book, to see what really worked for me and what didn’t. To help compare, I created a collage of pictures to show the wide range of lengths and bang styles I’ve tried. Something I noticed from this was that medium length hair accentuates my roundness and doesn’t flatter me as well as either really long or really short hair does!

IMG_0837

The various stages of Alexzandra~

I love the super long, and I love the super short. Right now, I’m in the middle, so the question is, should I go super short, or super long?

Which do you prefer with my face shape? What’s your favorite in the collage? Please let me know, as I appreciate any and every feedback!

Help a girl out of a rut, would ya?

Keep in mind, the one of me with long hair on here also has the straight blunt bang, which is also “not good” for my face shape.

As always, thanks for reading!

~Alexzandra, CIC

Leave a Reply

